Reflection on Spring ’11

Wow the spring semester of 2011 has come and gone in the blink of an eye. I hold on to many memorable memories and many learned lessons. This past semester was my most difficult by far. With a packed schedule of classes and extra curricular activities I was pushed to my physical and mental limit many times. But I do not regret any second of it but, looking back I may have done a few things differently. This semester I added another activity to my list of extracurricular activities, Student Association Senator. Being a Senator this semester has contributed to my growth as a person this semester. Met a lot of great people and learned how to work with people who wouldn’t normally work with, but best of all I got a chance to better implement cultural and diversity awareness on my campus. Overall, it was a great experience. Next semester I plan on taking it to the next level, so everyone who needs to watch out, watch out. This was a great semester for AKEBA (BSU), the organization that has my heart. We killed the competition and came home with many club/organization awards. That clearly shows that hard work pays off. The members of AKEBA have bent over backwards to host educational and cultural events that raise awareness not only about the Black community, but about all communities. Of course the honorary member, ME, put in a lot of work. Glad to see it all pay off in the end. Next academic year will be even better.
So much has happened this past semester, I don’t know what to write about. This past semester I created many strong bonds with some pretty amazing people. My residents, haha, I had the most unique floor this past semester with many different personalities, but all my residents brought a little laughter into my day when needed. Had many good times with team HARRINGTON – Where we keep it real at all times. I’m going to miss many people from the class of 2011. But it’s time for all of you to spread your wings outside of Plattsburgh and continue to flourish, our relationships will remain intact no matter how far you all are, thanks to Mark Zuckerberg and the good people at Facebook.
This semester wasn’t all peachy; I didn’t meet my academic goal. To me, when I don’t reach my goals I feel like I failed. After some reflection and much thought I’m not upset with myself for not reaching my goal. I’ve come to cope with failure because I believe that it’s healthy and inevitable. In order to reach ultimate success I will bump into failure here and there. This is an example. But thanks to those who put up with my rants about teachers and finals, lol, this semester has drained me mentally.
Now, I’m on to my senior year of undergraduate studies. Time to take it to the next level and do what they say we could do, finish strong. Oh yeah, and to all the haters, nonbelievers and naysayers, I take all of your negative energy and turn it positive, so that you for noticing my accomplishments.

About Edmund Adjapong

Edmund Adjapong, a native of the Bronx, NY, is a student at Teachers College, Columbia University. He is currently pursuing a Masters of Science in Science Education and received a Bachelors of Science in Biochemistry with a minor in Africana Studies from The State University of New York at Plattsburgh. Edmund believes every student learns differently. He also believes that engaging young men with media–despite its unconventional method–is an effective way to educate. Edmund enjoys working with and mentoring youth, especially young men of color, as they are our future. He fell in love with Hip-Hop after memorizing Puff Daddy's song "All about the Benjamins," in the third grade. Following the completion of his masters degree, Edmund plans on teaching science in a New York City public school and pursuing his Doctorate of Philosophy in Science Education. His ultimate goal is to become a science educator and researcher. This blog is a reflection of Edmund’s thoughts during his journey toward a terminal degree. For more information about Edmund Adjapong please feel free to contact him at: E.adjapong@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

